Start Planning

Arizona State Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Arizona and start planning to make the most of your time off.

The state of Arizona recognizes the same holidays as the federal government. State, county and local government offices are closed on New Year’s Day, President’s Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.

In addition, the state recognizes the third Monday in January as Civil Rights Day rather than Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. Also, the state legislature recognizes Mothers’ Day and Fathers’ Day as holidays along with American Family Day, which is celebrated the first Sunday in August. The state recognizes September 17 as Constitution Commemoration Day.

Arizona public offices are closed on all holidays, but employees are only entitled to New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas as paid holidays. Administration of a public employer may elect to allow employees paid days off on other holidays and the majority of state, local and county offices do so. Private employers in Arizona are not required to provide paid holidays nor are they required to give employees the day off. Most employers in the state, however, do provide employees with paid holidays.

Previous Years